CSR is an annual international conference held in Russia that is designed to cover a broad range of topics in Theoretical Computer Science. It is the sixteens conference in a series of regular events started with CSR 2006 in St. Petersburg. The list of previous CSR conferences can be found at https://logic.pdmi.ras.ru/~csr/. Conference proceedings are published in Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. A selection of extended versions of accepted papers will be published in a Special Issue of the Springer journal "Theory of Computing Systems".


Deadline for submissions: December 24, 2020 (anywhere on earth).

Notification of acceptance: February 18 February 8, 2021.

Conference dates: June 28-July 2, 2021.


include, but are not limited to:

(i) algorithms and data structures

(ii) computational complexity, including hardness of approximation and parameterized complexity

(iii) randomness in computing, approximation algorithms, fixed-parameter algorithms

(iv) combinatorial optimization, constraint satisfaction, operations research

(v) computational geometry

(vi) string algorithms

(vii) formal languages and automata, including applications to computational linguistics

(viii) codes and cryptography

(ix) combinatorics in computer science

(x) computational biology

(xi) applications of logic to computer science, proof complexity

(xii) database theory

(xiii) distributed computing

(xiv) fundamentals of machine learning, including learning theory, grammatical inference and neural computing

(xv) computational social choice

(xvi) quantum computing and quantum cryptography

(xvii) theoretical aspects of big data


Tim Roughgarden (Columbia University, USA)


Amin Coja-Oghlan (Goethe University, Frankfurt)

Edith Elkind (Oxford)

Hugo Gimbert (CNRS)

Ugo dal Lago (University of Bologna)

Merav Parter (Weizmann Institute of Science)

Toniann Pitassi (University of Toronto)

Joel Spencer (New York University)

Jens Vygen (University of Bonn)


Organizing Committee: Daniil Musatov, Alexander Kulikov, Alexander Smal.


Rahul Santhanam (University of Oxford, UK; Chair)

Elena Arseneva (St. Petersburg State Univesity, Russia)

Alexander Belov (University of Latvia, Latvia)

Simina Branzei (Purdue University, USA)

Andrei Bulatov (Simon Fraser University, Canada)

Anupam Das (University of Birmingham, UK)

Laure Daviaud (City University of London, UK)

Laurent Doyen (LSV - ENS Paris-Saclay, France)

Piotr Faliszewski (AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland)

Pawel Gawrychowski (University of Wroclaw, Poland)

Heng Guo (University of Edinburgh, UK)

Siyao Guo (NYU Shanghai, China)

Shuichi Hirahara (NII, Japan)

Mikhail Kapralov (EPFL, Switzerland)

Jesper Nederlof (Utrecht University, Netherlands)

Alexander Okhotin (St. Petersburg State University, Russia)

Sofya Raskhodnikova (Boston University, USA)

Alexander Razborov (University of Chicago, USA)

Suzanna de Rezende (Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic)

Laura Sanita (University of Waterloo, Canada)

Kavitha Telikepalli (TIFR, India)

Amir Yehudayoff (Technion, Israel)

Meirav Zehavi (Ben-Gurion Ubiversity, Israel)


We are carefully watching the situation with the COVID-19 pandemic. We hope to conduct a physical event, but it will be possible to participate in the event online for those who are unable to come due to travel restrictions or other circumstances. In case the situation in Russia does not allow us to organize a meeting in place, we are planning to move the event online but not to postpone it.


The list of previous CSR webpages can be found here.