Call for Papers

Printable version of the Call for papers can be found here



July 1-5, 2019, Novosibirsk, Russia

Contact email:


CSR is an annual international conference held in Russia that is designed to cover a broad range of topics in Theoretical Computer Science. The list of previous CSR conferences can be found at

Conference proceedings are published in Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. A selection of accepted papers will be published in a special issue of the Springer journal, "Theory of Computing Systems".

CSR'19 will be part of the Computer Science Summer in Russia which will also include the Ershov Informatics Conference (PSI'19) and a summer school in Computer Science for students.


Deadline for submissions: December 23, 2018

Notification of acceptance: February 13, 2019

Conference dates: July 1-5, 2019

Yandex Awards for the best paper and for the best student paper will be given by the PC.


Novosibirsk is the 3rd largest city in Russia and a major hub in Western Siberia. It is easily accessible either via Moscow or Saint Petersburg, or by a direct flight from Еurope (Frankfurt, Dusseldorf, Prague, Thessaloniki) or Asia (Tokyo, Seoul, Hongkong, Shanghai, Beijing or Bangkok).

The conference will take place at Novosibirsk University located in Akademgorodok -- a picturesque "academic town" about 30km south from the main city of Novosibirsk.

TOPICS include, but are not limited to:

  • algorithms and data structures
  • computational complexity
  • randomness in computing, approximation algorithms
  • combinatorial optimizaiton, constraint satisfaction
  • computational geometry
  • formal languages and automata
  • codes and cryptography
  • combinatorics in computer science
  • applications of logic to computer science, proof complexity
  • fundamentals of machine learning
  • theoretical aspects of big data


Andrew Yao (Tsinghua U, China)


Michael Fellows (U Bergen, Norway) to be confirmed

Eric Fusy (École Polytechnique, France)

Giuseppe Italiano (LUISS U, Italy)

Meena Mahajan (Institute of Mathematical Sciences, India)

Petros Petrosyan (Yerevan State U, Armenia)

David Woodruff (Carnegie Mellon U, USA)

Dmitry Zhuk (Moscow U, Russia)


Maxim Babenko (Yandex/HSE Moscow, RU)

Petra Berenbrink (U Hamburg, DE)

Olaf Beyersdorff (U Jena, DE)

René van Bevern (Novosibirsk State U, RU)

Manuel Bodirsky (TU Dresden, DE)

Vladimir Braverman (Johns Hopkins U, US)

Holger Dell (Saarland U, DE)

Nachum Dershowitz (Tel Aviv U, IL)

Michael Elkin (Ben-Gurion U, IL)

Pierre Fraigniaud (CNRS & U Paris Diderot, FR)

Anna Frid (Aix-Marseille U, FR)

Pawel Gawrychowski (U Wrocław, PL)

Dora Giammarresi (U Rome, IT)

Elena Grigorescu (Purdue U, US)

Gregory Kucherov (CNRS & U Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée, FR), chair

Christophe Paul (CNRS & U Montpellier FR)

Valentin Polishchuk (Linköping U, SE)

Artem Pyatkin (Sobolev Inst. of Mathematics & Novosibirsk State U, RU)

Alexander Rabinovich (Tel-Aviv U, IL)

Kunihiko Sadakane (U Tokyo, JP)

Arseny Shur (Ural Federal U, RU)

Igor Walukiewicz (CNRS & U Bordeaux, FR)

Jacobo Torán (U Ulm, DE)

Sergey Yekhanin (Microsoft Research, US)


René van Bevern (Novosibirsk State U, RU)


Denis Ponomaryov (A.P. Ershov Inst. of Informatics Systems, Novosibirsk, RU)

Anastasia Karpenko (Novosibirsk State U)

Oxana Tsidulko (Sobolev Inst. of Mathematics, Novosibirsk)


Edward A. Hirsch (St. Petersburg Dept. of Steklov Inst. of Mathematics, RU)

Juhani Karhumäki (U Turku, FI)

Alexander Kulikov (St. Petersburg Dept. of Steklov Inst. of Mathematics, RU)

Ernst W. Mayr (Technische Universität München, DE)

Alexander Razborov (U of Chicago, USA and Steklov Inst. of Mathematics, Moscow, RU)

Mikhail Volkov (Ural Federal U, RU)


Authors are invited to submit papers presenting original research in the conference topics, in electronic form (pdf format) via EasyChair at

Submissions must be unpublished, not under review for publication elsewhere, and provide sufficient information to judge their merits.

Submissions must be in English, and not exceed 12 pages, including the title page, in Springer's LNCS LaTeX style. Additional material, to be read at the discretion of reviewers and PC members, may be provided in a clearly marked appendix or by reference to a manuscript on a web site.

At least one of the authors must commit to presenting the paper at the conference.